Black Magic Mojitos Zyan Star s latest job is turning into a real Nightmare When supernatural bounty hunter Zyan Star jets down to Rio to meet a prospective client everything goes as planned initially That is until she

  • Title: Black Magic & Mojitos
  • Author: A.A. Chamberlynn
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 339
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Zyan Star s latest job is turning into a real Nightmare.When supernatural bounty hunter Zyan Star jets down to Rio to meet a prospective client, everything goes as planned initially That is, until she finds out the person hiring her is Raoul Cabrera, the half demon half faery supernatural overlord of Brazil, who rubs elbows with Lucifer himself And that he s hired anotheZyan Star s latest job is turning into a real Nightmare.When supernatural bounty hunter Zyan Star jets down to Rio to meet a prospective client, everything goes as planned initially That is, until she finds out the person hiring her is Raoul Cabrera, the half demon half faery supernatural overlord of Brazil, who rubs elbows with Lucifer himself And that he s hired another bounty hunter, Donovan McGregor, to work with her.Their target is a herd of Nightmares, horse spirits that torment people with visions of their worst fears before devouring their flesh Zy and Donovan head out on the hunt, but it quickly becomes apparent that their client hasn t given them all the facts There s a pissed off, powerful witch summoning the Nightmares, and she s out to exact some serious revenge on Raoul Zy soon realizes she s caught in the middle of a lover s spat between two immensely powerful supernaturals, and it s not clear whose side she should stand on As if that weren t enough, pulling off this job is going to require her to relive her worst fears and summon her own long suppressed magical powers.Let the supernatural Carnival begin.

    • Best Read [A.A. Chamberlynn] ↠ Black Magic & Mojitos || [History Book] PDF ☆
      339 A.A. Chamberlynn
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [A.A. Chamberlynn] ↠ Black Magic & Mojitos || [History Book] PDF ☆
      Posted by:A.A. Chamberlynn
      Published :2020-07-18T17:28:13+00:00

    About "A.A. Chamberlynn"

    1. A.A. Chamberlynn

      Alexia Chamberlynn lives in Florida She is the author of the Zyan Star urban fantasy series and the Timekeeper s War contemporary fantasy series When she s not writing or reading, she can be found playing with horses, eating chocolate and other delicious things, drinking wine, traveling to the next place on her global wish list, or maybe doing yoga Represented by Sandy Lu of the L Perkins Agency.

    262 thoughts on “Black Magic & Mojitos”

    1. Well, that was an unexpected pleasure, like ordering a margarita and being surprised when it tastes a whole lot better than you expected. It's like going to a neighborhood bakery and finding a fancy pastry of the highest order next to the run of the mill donuts.With so many writers and writer-wannabes out there, I'm always skeptical reading an unknown (to me) author and will look for any excuse to stop reading. It starts with the lack of any attempt at editing or the typical signs of an untraine [...]


    2. hot DAMN this was unexpected. when is originally opened this, my first thought was: "it's only 40 pages, how much could happen??" (the answer is a lot)this short story was so surprising, the snarkiness of the main character, the quiet lil info drops that let you feel like you understood this world without being obnoxious or overly-long. (donovan)it made me sad that it all ended so quickly because I could have quite happily kept reading a full length novel about these characters. it wasnt perfect [...]


    3. Fans of Mercy Thompson, Harry Dresden, and Anita Blake: meet Zyan Star.She’s a clever and acerbic, Seattle-based by way of Ireland, supernatural (immortal?), eternally damned, katana-wielding bounty hunter, and for this story, she’s in Rio hunting some Nightmares. Not bad dreams, but the bitey, human-eating, give-you-nightmares kind. She is hired by a local supernatural big-wig to get rid of the evil things. However, as there should be in any good story, there’s a lot more to the situation [...]


    4. What I found was a novella that set up a world I was quite interested in but left me wanting more.Zyan is mostly a typical urban fantasy heroine, but her two friends who came with her to Rio intrigued me. I got a Buffy and her friends vibe from the group, and I appreciated an urban fantasy heroine who's comfortable relying on other people and being open about her friendships right from the get-go. The setting was bright, colorful, and well-described, and Rio isn't something I've personally seen [...]


    5. Everything is right about this excellent novella, especially (for me) it’s resemblance to Buffy the Vampire Slayer (I miss that show so much!). The action takes place in Brazil during Carnival, and there are plenty of details to make the setting realistic. Zyan, the main character has a team that includes a shifter and a witch who help her rid the world of dangerous creatures. It’s the adept combination of danger and funny snark that reminds me of Buffy. The book is extremely well-written, w [...]


    6. Zyan Star's newest client isn't who she expected. As a supernatural bounty hunter, she's met some frightening beings, but Raoul Cabrera is near the top of the list. To add injury to insult, a second hunter has been hired to help her. Zyan must rid Rio of a herd of Nightmares, and if that isn't enough itself, she finds herself stuck in the middle of a lover's quarrel. A very deadly quarrel. She's not sure who to trust, but that might not be as important as surviving the night.This is an awesome t [...]


    7. I received a free copy of this novelette for review. It features a magical warrior for hire who doesn't use her magic and her two colleagues. She is in Rio de Janeiro for a job, and finds that things aren't what she expected. Apparently she isn't concerned about being paid, as she decides to take a different approach to her situation. In general, the plot and action were fine and I didn't have strong enough questions to take me out of the story, except for one thing. She's in Brazil. Mojitos are [...]


    8. Zyan Star is a bounty hunter for the supernatural meeting her client in Rio De Janeiro. Zyan only has a few rules:1. No lying 2. No threats against her friends and 3. Don't challenge her. If you follow these rules you'll get along fine with Zyan. Zyan learns that she's been lied to but another person is being added to the job. She's furious and vowing vengeance. Donovan McGregor is a well known European bounty hunter called in on the same job as Zyan. Donovan has no problem working with Zyan eve [...]


    9. Zyan Star may find Rio too hot to handle in A.A. Chamberlynn's Black Magic and Mojitos. From the very first page, I loved Zyan's voice and was yanked into the story. Zyan is definitely her own woman and is such a strong and spirited female lead with two great best friends/business partners that balance her out well. I enjoyed the verbal sparring between Zyan and the hunky bounty hunter Donovan McGregor. Chamberlynn writes a thrilling and adventure-packed supernatural story. The beautiful and col [...]


    10. What a fun prequel novella by debut author A.A. Chamberlynn. There's just enough worldbuilding in this new Urban Fantasy series to whet the appetite. I want to know more about Zyan--who she is, WHAT she is, and how she ended up as basically a supernatural bounty hunter/tracker. Her cadre, a werewolf and a witch, give her support and the intriguing Donovan, a potential rival and more, will hopefully reappear in the first full-length novel. Fun book, fun characters, fun world, well written. I'll b [...]


    11. Zyan is a supernatural bounty hunter, which is a fascinating idea. This novelette has a great voice, with some unique expressions and descriptions. Snappy and clever dialogue moved the pacing along nicely, as did the action.If you don’t mind your prose peppered with serious swearing (along with an opening flippant comment about Jesus/a giant Jesus statue), and you like heroines who katana-swordfight against evil supernatural creatures, then you’ll find this an entertaining and exciting read. [...]


    12. When reading this I was completely drawn in. The story line was very good and the language everything was easily understood. I liked the banter between the characters. Their personalities draw you in. You can see yourself right there watching it all unfold. Cant wait to see what Happens with Zyan and Donovan, their little dance had me laughing a few times. Definitely a book to pick up and then wait on the next release.


    13. Fun little appetizer story from debut novelist A.A. Chamberlynn. I love this introduction to Zyan, and I thoroughly enjoyed this new world of supernatural beings Ms. Chamberlynn has created. Plus, a neat and interesting locale - Rio! I can't wait to read the full-length story set 5 years later coming out in October. All I can say is, Donovan better make an appearance. ;o)


    14. Zyan is a bounty hunter who has an assignment in Rio. All hell breaks loose when she’s there, literally. There are many supernatural beings around her, the worst being Nightmares who are frightening, bloodthirsty entities. This novella has a great voice, is action-packed, and there’s some steamy chemistry between Zyan and Donovan, a bounty hunter who works alongside her.




    15. Too short to be read as a standalone; but a juicy teaser that will leave the reader considering Part 2.Providing the next one is novel length.



    16. Very interesting Very interesting but even with quite packed into such a short space,this felt more like a sample then a story.Like a sample from some restaurant in a mall of something, or a grocery store, while imaginative this was just enough to whet your appetite and maybe get you interested nothing more.And that’s what bugs me, a true short story can and should feel both complete and leaving you wanting moreHungry yes,but satisfied as well.Here I’m only hungry,like when your only offered [...]


    17. This was a novella meant to serve as an introduction to the characters of a new series starting later this year, and it did a decent job of painting in the broad strokes, giving an idea of what's on offer. The problem is, I truly disliked most of what was painted in. It opens in Rio, with mockery of the statue of Jesus. Really?Really?That intro to Zyan Star is apparently pretty representative. She's yet another new addition to the Badass Foul-Mouthed Hard-Drinking Got No Time for Emotion Club; I [...]


    18. Black Magic & Mojitos is a superbly written, action-packed, urban fantasy novella with a kick-ass supernatural bounty hunter. Zyan is sweating up a storm in Rio, and that’s even before she meets with her new client. Taking down supernatural creatures is her game, but things don’t quite go to plan once she finds out she’s not the only hunter on the gig. Tension explodes as Zyan and Donovan attempt to get along. Loved their conflict, not to mention the slight underlying hint at so much m [...]


    19. One kick-trash heroine and a mission gone bad. Zyan, supernatural bounty hunter for hire Talk about a unique angle. I met the characters in a piece of flash fiction and immediately picked up the novella. It was a fun ride with more ego than a 16 year old boy.Content Warning: Some language, violence, suggestive situations and drinking.


    20. This was a short but fun read. You are drawn to the characters and their personalities. I can't wait to read more.I was given this book in exchange for an honest review via LibraryThing.



    21. At 44 pages, it barely qualifies as a short story. Add the insult of paying 99 cents for it, and it just leaves you with an icky passed-off feeling.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *